12 Tags of Christmas

I have been wanting to create the 12 Tags of Christmas (for you guys that don’t know and I can’t even imagine—-Tim Holtz has created a tag every day for the first 12 days in December for the last two years, making this the third year).   Through these tags, he does many techniques and puts forth some inky madness.  And up until this year, (even though I have watched and ohhhed and ahhhhed over the first two years) I have never done them because  I felt that I lacked talent (who does not feel intimidated by him..LOL).    But this year, I was determined to make them and even post them no matter how they turned out.  So far, I have been able to keep up and luckily, have had most of the supplies that I needed to complete them—surprise right since I have been gathering (like a squirrel with nuts) Tim Holtz stuff lately.  

Below is the first three days of tags……..of course, they will be different from his but hopefully not so much that you cannot recognize them as being my attempt at them….LOL.    And also, Rhonda,  a fellow design team member over at Life Preservers Scrapbook Club,  is also doing them………if you get a chance, go check out her blog to see her beautiful interpretations of the tags. 

Below is the first tag…..I did not have a snowman stamp at the time so I used snowflakes (trust me, I got my hands on a snowman stamp the next day, thanks to a friend of mine….thanks Pat!!)  And although I have many many colors of his crackle paint, I did not have the Rock Candy kind which dries clear.  He used it on his tag and it looks soooo good so I must get some!!!!!

Tag 2 includes a beautiful metal flower that Tim fashioned into a rose…..I sadly did not have any of his metal flowers so I had to create my own from a metal sheet of copper….needless to say, my fingers are all cut up from twisting, cutting and bending the copper but I really liked how the flower turned out.  Tim’s tag is a beautiful red and green but somehow my turned out a peach and green color…..I think of peach as a Christmas color, don’t you….LOL. 

Tim gave us twins for Tag #3…..he demoed this really cool technique making plaid paper with alcohol inks and I just loved it (after trying out many color combos)!!!!  He made two tags so of course, I had to do the same.  I am not sure I like how they turned out (other than the plaid part) but I did them so shall I post them.

That is it until tomorrow………I am so excited to see what is next.

This entry was posted in Layouts and ScrapFun. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 12 Tags of Christmas

  1. Maggi says:

    These are absolutely beautiful! I love that metal flower, you are so awesome!

  2. Rhonda V. says:

    First of all – I adore the snow on your blog!! So fun!!! You are completely rocking the tags Sharon, they are so beautiful!!

    As a newer scrapper, I didn’t know about this fun tag event of Tim’s until you shared it. I’m so glad that we are taking the plunge and making these!! Thanks so much for the kind words and blog love!!

  3. Kim says:

    Sharon,
    Each one of your tags are beautiful and uniques. Yours rival Tim Holtz, but dont tell him! I am still trying to win a prize! LOL! You are a true artist!

Leave a Reply

