Making Decor For Baby’s Room—Baby Shower Gifts

It is no surprise that I love building the glass blocks so when I was invited to a baby shower recently, I thought that I would make one as a gift.  I was delighted to learn that it was a baby girl so I could totally “pink” out.  I knew that I also wanted to create a set by building a page and putting it in a frame to give along with the glass block and I wanted the glass block to have lights so that it can be used as a possible night light in the baby’s room. 

For the layout, I started with some MME paper that I had from a paper pack….I really liked it because of the soft colors and because it included pink paper with crowns on it, since my friend has called her little bean a princess ever since she found out it was going to be a little girl.  I then created the layout by layering the papers and cutting a frame from a free SVG that I found at SVGCUTS.  I then stacked on the Prima flowers (to include half a Prima vine) and some pink flourish bling.  To finish it off, I added a small bling crown and cut the baby’s name, Catalia, out of white sparkly paper.  I cut the letters out four times each and then glued and stacked them together to create the look of chipboard.  A pink outline of the letters behind the white ones made them really stand out.   For the frame, I brushed some glossy accents around the outside and then dusted it with Diamond Dust to make it really sparkle and shine.  I found the wooden word “Shhh” at a local Ben Franklin store that I thought would look really cute with the frame so I also dusted it also and glued it on top. 

For the glass box, I used coordinating papers to wrap around the block and on top of the block.  I also made a small “layout” for the picture frame that I glued on top of the glass block.  I wanted some white flowers with pink centers so I created my own by using some white Prima flowers and then painting the centers with pink (using brush strokes from the center out) and then sprinkling some more Diamond Dust on the wet paint…you can never have enough D-Dust).  After all the flowers were adhered to the glass block, the pink bling flourish added and some random leaves placed, I then added the lights.  This was just a small pack of battery operated rice lights that I twisted and hid in between and behind the flowers.  The battery pack is located behind the frame.  The glass block also has an opening in the back where an additional string of lights can be added if desired. 

Thank you for stopping by, leaving a comment and/or just taking a peek………remember to take care of yourself and love one another……….Sharon

This entry was posted in Giving and Sharing, ScrapProjects. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Decor For Baby’s Room—Baby Shower Gifts

  1. Sue in CT says:

    OMG this is gorgeous! I really love it but …..I am going to have to do a boy’s room soon. Seems to me there are so little for boys so any help/suggestions by this talented group would be greatly appreciated.

  2. Donna Woods says:

    This is fabulous! Oh the possibilities, TFS.

Leave a Reply

