Making a Splash….a Mermaid Backdrop

I was asked to do a backdrop for a teen girl’s mermaid birthday party.  I knew I didn’t want it to be too cartoonish since it was for teenagers so I just went with different shades of teals and created something they could all take selfies (because we know teens LOVE selfies) in front of and  I also included lots of props they could use for picture taking.  I wanted to create something special for the birthday girl so I decided to make a matching mermaid head piece that they could use with the backdrop.

I used standard pvc pipe to build the base and then used thousands (or so it seemed) pieces of fabric ribbon and curling ribbon to create the base.  I then finished it with paper flowers and fans, white lights, starfish and a net.

 

2015-03-05 23.29.32

Headpiece for Birthday Girl

20150307_041134-1

Completed backdrop

20150307_041148-1

Completed backdrop with lights

This entry was posted in Backdrops, Birthday, Parties, Party, ScrapProjects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

